Future Justice Commission

The Future Justice Commission is composed of WFC Councillors, Advisors and selected experts from different fields of knowledge. The focus since 2012 has been primarily on a campaign to promote Ombudspersons for Future Generations at all governance levels. This has been due to specific funding as well as the Rio+20 Summit in June 2012 which was an ideal high-profile platform to promote this proposal.

Commission Chairs

Neu Hafsat Abiola-Costello

Hafsat Abiola-Costello
Founder, Kudirat Initiative for Democracy (KIND)
View Profile

Sandor Fulop

Dr. Sándor Fülöp

Former Parliamentary Commissioner for future generations in Hungary.
View Profile

Commission Councillors


Ana Maria Cetto
Research Professor, Institute of Physics, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México.

Neu Tony Colman

Tony Colman
Director, Africapractice

Neu Marie-Claire Cordonier Segger

Prof. Marie-Claire Cordonier Segger
Director of the Centre for International Sustainable Development Law


Thais Corral
Co-founder, Women’s Environment and Development Organization


Riane Eisler
Honorary Councillor President, Centre for Partnership Studies


Dr. Scilla Elworthy
Founder of the Oxford Research Group



Dr. Rama Mani
Scholar, Activist and Policy Analyst

Neshan profile picture_edited

Neshan Gunasekera
Educationist and Lawyer



Julia Marton-Lefèvre 
Former Director General of IUCN

Neu Pauline Tangiora

Pauline Tangiora
Honorary Councillor Maori elder, Rongomaiwahine Tribe


Alyn Ware
Founder and international coordinator of the Network Parliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament (PNND)


Kehkashan Basu
WFC Youth Ambassador & UNEP Major Groups Facilitating Committee, Global Coordinator for Children & Youth

Neu Judge Weeramantry

Judge Christopher Weeramantry
Honorary Councillor
Former Vice-President of the International Court of Justice (1926 – 2017)


Prof. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker
Honorary Councillor
Co-Chair of the International Panel for Sustainable Resource Management